Archive for 2010/03/04

I came across an advert for a series of fantasy books I read when I was a kid. I had completely forgotten about them. Choose Your Own Adventure is a series of children’s gamebooks first published by Bantam Books from 1979-1998 and currently being re-published by Chooseco. Each story is written from a second-person point of view, with the reader assuming the role of the protagonist and making choices that determine the main character’s actions in response to the plot and its outcome. Choose Your Own Adventure was one of the most popular children’s series during the 1980s and 1990s, selling over 250 million copies between 1979 and 1998, and translated into at least 38 languages.

I must have read a large number of these books growing up because it may explain why I sometimes wish life was more like a Choose Your Own Adventure book.
This is what I would like to see written now:

As you journey along the path you meet an old man.

He tells you that modern neuroscience has proven that all our actions and decisions are merely the machinations of a predetermined universe and that our concept of ‘free will’ is nothing but a comforting illusion.

If you agree with his hypothesis, turn to page 72.

If you disagree, turn to page 72.

I woke up this morning feeling really tired and out of it. Think I am fighting off another cold. I googled “Why do I still feel tired in the morning even after 8 hours sleep?” Imagine my surprise when this was the first link the almighty Google came up with @ answerbag.com: “It is impossible to say from your question. It could be as simple as the fact that your mattress is old and should be replaced.” I’m not sure Google helped at all so I decided to make myself some Sex, Drugs and Rock ‘n Roll on toast. Feeling much better now. Thanks for asking.