Bono and the blind guitar player

Posted: 2011/07/07 in Music
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

When Adam Bevell went to see U2 last weekend in Nashville, he had no way to know that he would become an instant internet sensation.

Bevell, a 32-year old blind father of four from Pheonix, Arizona, got a spot in the front row of the Irish band’s Nashville concert, and held up a sign saying “Blind Guitar Player” and that he wanted to play a song for his wife. By the time U2 hit their encore, the band’s singer, Bono, asked the man onto the stage, and in front of 50,000, invited him to play a song.

“Dude’s gonna play some guitar,” said Bono.

Admitting he was nervous, Bevell took the guitar and played U2’s “All I Want is You”, and was joined on vocals by Bono, and then by the entire band.

“It took me a second,” Bevell told a the Sun Herald, “I had no idea what was going on because in my mind they had left and walked off. I had no idea Bono was still there. Instantly, I was lifted over that front rail and hoisted on stage by the security guards. Before I knew it, I could hear Bono’s voice saying, ‘what do you want to play man?’”
Via: The Vancouver Sun

Leave a Reply

